Edwin Austin Abbey: The Quest for the Holy Grail, Part 7 - The 7 Knights of Darkness (1895)

(Boston Public Library, Boston, Massachusetts, USA)

Galahad approaches the Castle of the Maidens. In the castle the maidens, the Virtues, are imprisoned and guarded by the seven Knights of Darkness, the seven Deadly Sins. Galahad must defeat Sin and redeem the world by setting free the Virtues. Galahad fights the seven Knights of Darkness and finally manages to defeat them. Painting from 1895.

Part 1: The child Galahad
Part 2: Sir Lancelot and Sir Bors outfit Galahad with his spurs
Part 3: The Arthurian Round Table and the fable of the Seat Perilous
Part 4: The knights of the Round Table set forth on the search for the Holy Grail
Part 5: King Amfortas and the castle of the Grail lie under a spell
Part 6: Sir Galahad contemplates his quest
Part 7: The 7 Knights of Darkness
Part 8: Sir Galahad receives the key to the Castle of Maidens
Part 9: The Castle of Maidens
Part 10: Galahad Parts From His Bride Blanchefleur
Part 11: The passing of King Amfortas
Part 12: Sir Galahad passes from the land
Part 13: Sir Galahad crosses the seas in Solomon's ship
Part 14: The city of Sarras
Part 15: The Golden Tree